Please send me SCA's fortnightly briefing:

June 15, 2016

Who’s who.

As the dust settles on the Scottish Parliament elections and our new minority Scottish Government orientate themselves to the new dynamics in the chamber, attention has turned to who sits on which parliamentary committee. As no party has an overall majority, what happens in the committees should become a lot more interesting than last term. In addition to a list of who’s who on which committee(and therefore who you might want to lobby), also included is the latest organogram of the civil servant team in the Third Sector Division. 


Scottish Parliament

Organogram of Third Sector Division team

New MSPs take on roles scrutinising government legislation

THE MEMBERSHIP of key Scottish Parliament committees has been lodged in a motion to the parliament today [Wednesday 8 June], confirming which MSPs will be responsible for key political issues at the beginning of the fifth Scottish parliament.

The committees hold an important role considering government proposals, and reporting on issues of public interest. The recent Land Reform Act debate witnessed a committee of MSPs pushing for far bolder action from the government.

Due to the election result, the committees will reflect the make up of the parliament – where no party has an overall majority. Scottish Tory and Scottish Green representation is also higher in the system as a result of their election performances.

Conveners and vice-conveners are selected from within the committees. They will play a key role in upcoming debates on issues such as education and local government reform, setting future tax rates, and continuing debates on land reform and housing policy.

A motion, lodged by Joe FitzPatrick MSP on behalf of the parliamentary bureau, stated: “That the parliament agrees the membership of committees of the Parliament as follows:

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee

Membership: Maurice Golden, Finlay Carson, Alexander Burnett, Mark Ruskell, Graeme Dey, Claudia Beamish, Kate Forbes, Angus MacDonald, David Stewart, Emma Harper, Gail Ross.

Local Government and Communities Committee

Membership: Graham Simpson, Andy Wightman, Bob Doris, Elaine Smith, Kenneth Gibson, Alexander Stewart, Mairi Evans.

Rural Economy and Connectivity Committee

Membership: Edward Mountain, Jamie Greene, Peter Chapman, Mike Rumbles, John Finnie, Gail Ross, Rhoda Grant, Emma Harper, Stewart Stevenson, Richard Lyle, John Mason.

Health and Sport Committee

Membership: Donald Cameron, Miles Briggs, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Alison Johnstone, Neil Findlay, Clare Haughey, Tom Arthur, Richard Lyle, Ivan McKee, Colin Smyth, Maree Todd.

Public Petitions Committee

Membership: Maurice Corry, Brian Whittle, Johann Lamont, Angus MacDonald, Rona Mackay.

Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee

Membership: John Scott, Rachael Hamilton, Stuart McMillan, David Torrance, Elaine Smith.

Equal Opportunities Committee

Membership: Annie Wells, Jeremy Balfour, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Christina McKelvie, Willie Coffey, David Torrance, Mary Fee.

European and External Relations Committee

Membership: Jackson Carlaw, Rachael Hamilton, Ross Greer, Joan McAlpine, Bruce Crawford, Richard Lochhead, Lewis Macdonald.

Finance Committee

Membership: Alex Johnstone, Murdo Fraser, Adam Tomkins, Patrick Harvie, Michael Russell, Neil Bibby, Willie Coffey, James Kelly, Kate Forbes, Ivan McKee, Ash Denham.

Public Audit Committee

Membership: Alison Harris, Liam Kerr, Jenny Marra, Monica Lennon, Alex Neil, Colin Beattie, Jenny Gilruth.

Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee

Membership: John Scott, Alexander Stewart, Patrick Harvie, Clare Adamson, Tom Arthur, Clare Haughey, Daniel Johnson.

Economy, Jobs and Fair Work Committee

Membership: Gordon Lindhurst, Dean Lockhart, Liam Kerr, Andy Wightman, Ash Denham, Gordon MacDonald, Gillian Martin, John Mason, Gil Paterson, Jackie Baillie, Richard Leonard.

Education and Skills Committee

Membership: Liz Smith, Ross Thomson, Tavish Scott, Ross Greer, James Dornan, Johann Lamont, Colin Beattie, Jenny Gilruth, Fulton MacGregor, Daniel Johnson, Gillian Martin.

Justice Committee

Membership: Margaret Mitchell, Douglas Ross, Oliver Mundell, Liam McArthur, John Finnie, Rona Mackay, Mairi Evans, Mary Fee, Ben Macpherson, Fulton MacGregor, Stewart Stevenson.

Social Security Committee

Membership: Adam Tomkins, Gordon Lindhurst, Alison Johnstone, Sandra White, George Adam, Mark Griffin, Ruth Maguire, Pauline McNeill, Ben Macpherson.”