Please send me SCA's fortnightly briefing:

< Back to '5th April 2023' briefing

April 4, 2023

Cause for concern?

Whenever there’s a reshuffle at the top of the Scottish Government, it’s always a bit of guesswork  as to who’s been rewarded or blamed for whatever happened previously. Scotland’s new First Minister’s recently announced team was always going to be more than a reshuffle and so there’s been even more speculation than usual about what it all means. And just as importantly, some analysis of what’s been left out of Ministerial portfolios. What conclusions should we draw from having to dig so far into the lists of ministerial duties for any mention of communities or even third sector?

Scottish Government

Full ministerial team confirmed

Published 29 March 

Cabinet of 10 will be supported by 18 Junior Ministers.

First Minister Humza Yousaf has completed the appointment of his ministerial team. Consisting of 10 Cabinet Secretaries, including the First Minister, the Scottish Cabinet will be supported by 18 Junior Ministers.

First Minister Humza Yousaf

Minister for Drugs and Alcohol Policy Elena Whitham

Minister for Independence Jamie Hepburn

Minister for Cabinet and Parliamentary Business George Adam

Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Finance Shona Robison

Minister for Community Wealth and Public Finance Tom Arthur

Minister for Local Government Empowerment and Planning Joe FitzPatrick

Cabinet Secretary for NHS Recovery, Health and Social Care Michael Matheson

Minister for Public Health and Women’s Health Jenni Minto

Minister for Social Care, Mental Wellbeing and Sport Maree Todd

Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills Jenny Gilruth

Minister for Children, Young People and Keeping the Promise Natalie Don

Minister for Higher and Further Education; and Minister for Veterans Graeme Dey

Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Just Transition Màiri McAllan

Minister for Transport Kevin Stewart

Cabinet Secretary for Wellbeing Economy, Fair Work and Energy Neil Gray

Minister for Small Business, Innovation and Trade Richard Lochhead

Minister for Energy Gillian Martin

Minister for Green Skills, Circular Economy and Biodiversity (who will also work alongside the Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Just Transition) Lorna Slater

Minister for Zero Carbon Buildings, Active Travel and Tenants’ Rights (who will also work alongside the Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice) Patrick Harvie

Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Land Reform and Islands Mairi Gougeon

Cabinet Secretary for Constitution, External Affairs and Culture Angus Robertson

Minister for Culture, Europe and International Development Christina McKelvie

Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice Shirley-Anne Somerville

Minister for Equalities, Migration and Refugees Emma Roddick

Minister for Housing Paul McLennan

Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Home Affairs Angela Constance

Minister for Victims and Community Safety Siobhian Brown

Parliament will be asked to approve the new Ministerial appointments on Thursday. A more detailed breakdown of ministerial responsibilities will be confirmed in due course.